Chai Oatmeal

Chai Oatmeal

I just love seeing a great recipe suggestion on facebook and being able to make it right away!  A Happy Herbivore follower talked about eating Chai Oatmeal for breakfast.  Did I get up and look in either of my 2 cookbooks by Lindsay Nixon?  No, I Googled the recipe and found it on her website. http://happyherbivore.com/recipe/tea-chai-oatmeal/

I steeped my teabag and water right in the bowl I was planning to make oatmeal in.  I only eat 1/4 cup of oatmeal, so I cut this recipe in half:

Steep 1 chai tea bag in the hot water you’ll be using 4-5 min. depending on how strong you like it (1 c. water for a full serving).        Take the bag out.

Add 1/2 c. quick oatmeal

1 t. pumpkin pie spice

1/4 t. cinnamon

Stir and heat 1-2 more min.  and let the oatmeal soften and absorb the water.

I added 1 T. flax seed meal,  1/2 a banana, a drizzle of local honey (to ward off allergies) and a splash of almond milk.

Perfect for this snowy day out of school!

snow_3-3-14

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Sparkle said,

    sounds really good


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

