New Year’s Meal – Black Eyed Peas & Greens

field peas

Sorry – took the picture on my phone!

Happy New Year foodies! 

I stayed up WAY too late last night.  Friends and I played dominos [Chicken Foot], drank pomegranate champagne punch and snacked on marinated garlic, olives, hummus, and guacamole. 

I’ve had my coffee and some fruit and my Instant Pot electric pressure cooker just beeped telling me the field peas, cabbage & kale are done [10 min.].  I plan to add a can of Rotel green chilies and lime to serve over brown rice for lunch  Not that I think it necessarily brings “good luck”, but it’s  a healthy meal to start the year out with.  If you miss the ham hocks, throw in some Goya ham flavor powder or instant smoke.

I’ve decided to cheat a bit this morning.  There’s lots of water in the pot full of nutrient goodness, so I just threw in some 10 minute brown rice [boil-in-the-bag type–cut and pour out of the bag] with everything, put the lid back on and will let it soak it all up for another 10 min.

1 bag field peas

2 onions & 2 cloves garlic chopped

1.2 head green cabbage & 6 kale leaves stripped and chopped

Cover peas with water in Instant Pot and cook for 10 min or simmer cook field peas on stove for 15 min./add greens and cook 15 min.

Turn off heat/pressure and add 2 packs Goya ham flavor and 1 can Rotel lime and cilantro tomatoes.

Throw in contents of 1 10 min. brown rice bag and let stand covered an additional 15-20 min. or serve over premade brown rice.  Season with vinegar, hot sauce, nutritional yeast flakes, or chia seeds.

peas seasoned

This is reminiscent of a July meal I posted here [much better picture, I might add].

https://veggieteach.wordpress.com/2013/07/06/field-peas-collards/

Leave a Reply

