Beautiful Weather – Beautiful Food

I must admit, I’ve been limping along still – eating vegan junk and less fresh produce.  School is whooping my butt!  Late nights, not shopping like I should weekly for fresh foods, eating out of the cupboard, freezer, or take out.  This morning I was down to the dregs.  Some frozen hash browns, sweet potato fries, limp jalapeno pepper, garlic and onion.  I used my well seasoned cast iron skillet spritzed with Pam, dumped them in and put them in the oven on 400.  I stirred it every 5 minutes and cooked it about 15 minutes or so .  I broiled the top at the end (gotta watch it closely or bye-bye breakfast).  Oh yea, I threw in some drained, pressed and crumbled tofu too before baking – about 1/3 block – a sprinkle of cayenne and chipotle pepper, a dash of salt and it got me off to Curves to work out.

Then I grocery shopped, came home, and took a really O.L.D. butternut squash, cut the slightly molding skin off deeply, seeded and cut into large cubes, then tossed it in a pot with 1.5 large sweet onions, 4 large cloves of garlic and a bay leaf, then boiled it for about 30 minutes in a couple of cups of water.

When it was done, I scooped it out with a slotted spoon, blended it in two batches with a couple of cubes of that frozen cilantro, 2 tsp. ginger, 1/3 cup broth from the pan and a cube of no chicken bouillon, a healthy shake of cayenne, smoked paprika, chipotle pepper, 2 tsp. curry, a can of lite coconut milk, a drizzle of black strap molasses and maple syrup.  Delish!

 

I served it with a Tb. nutritional yeast and chia seeds stirred in.  I’ll probably eat most of it today! 

Hopefully I can straighten my bad eating habits back out and return to eating nutritionally dense meals made from fresh plants again!  Summer’s coming and I want to be energized &  ready to play.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    karena said,

    Hi again! I’ve been “limping along” for a while now, too, and finally decided today what I need is another 28 day challenge. If you’re looking to get back to basics, no excuses, why don’t you join me? We can support each other over the rough spots, and maybe find a few other hobblers that need support as well 🙂 I’m starting tomorrow, back blogging at verynearlyvegan.blogspot.com – I’ve missed this community! Love my regular gals, but they don’t get the wf/pb side of me 🙂

    • 2

      So do you want to spearhead the challenge on your blog? I’m good at spreading the news, but as a teacher, REALLY busy right now. I’m game–just got my QVC Vitamix blender!!

      • 3

        karena said,

        Not so much spearheading as simply hoping to lead by example 🙂 I’ve got a few pals that are *this* close to trying Rip’s 28 day challenge, and I know I need it. I’m making the rounds of the old blogs from Jonny O’s wagon, trying to figure out who’s still around, still going strong, and who wants to come along for the ride.

        Get that blender to work! I would be lost without my Vitamix 🙂

  2. 4

    Sparkle said,

    I’m coming to live with you

  3. 5

    I’ll take good care of you Mammy!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

