Soy Chorizo Kale Soup

 

By now, if you follow, you must know that Sunday is Soup Day! 

My first thought as I headed to the refridge to see what would inspire me was another take on my kale white-bean soup, since the kale I bought yesterday looked a bit wilted to begin with.  Looking in the cupboard, I realized there were only two choices for beans – garbanzos or pintos.  The pintos struck a cord.

I have a great tortilla soup recipe that I love the flavors in (by good ole Richard Simmons), so the fun began!  I heated about a quart of filtered water and tossed in a couple packs Goya fake ham seasoning. (*warning-it does have msg – sorry guys – but you could easily use no-chicken broth cubes and liquid smoke).  

 Add: 

2 cloves garlic

½ a large onion 

 10 baby carrots

½ a red and ½ a green pepper

All chopped

While that is boiling, wash, de-stem and chop a bunch of kale – then add to the pot.

 Add: 

1 can no salt tomatoes

1 can pinto beans

1 can green chilies diced (I had jalapenos, so used about 1/3 can)

 It started looking too thick, so I poured another cup or so of veg. both from a box in.

 Add: ½ tsp. cumin – more or less 😉

A Tbs. chili lime Mrs. Dash

Hmmm…that soy chorizo I just bought might be good in this—I added half a pack.

 

 ½ cup + lime juice (or add per bowl)

Sprinkle Nutrional Yeast on top of each bowl or add ½ cup + to the pot.

No tortillas for me today, and I had just used up the cilantro or I would have added a ½ c. or so.  Just spicy enough to make my nose run, I didn’t have to add hot sauce today. 

 

Umm… Ummm… good!

See ya next week!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    A Tablespoon of Liz said,

    yum, this looks amazing! Kale is one of my favorite greens!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

