Black Beans and Rice

Ready for a big pot of black beans?  I made enough for myself and to share with a friend for a few days.

Chop 1 green pepper

4 cloves garlic

1 large onion

4 stalks celery

2-3 handfuls baby carrots

1/2 cup fresh cilantro

Saute’ with 1 Tbs. olive oil 8-10 min.

Add: 4 tsp. oregano

1/2 + tsp. cumin

4 Tbs white vinegar

2 c. water or vegetable stock

4 cans of black beans – do not drain

Heat through – toss in cilantro

I also steamed a frozen bag of brown rice and threw it in afterwards for easier lunch packing.

I also made collard greens and put a big spoonful in the bottom of my bowl.  A few shakes of the hot vinegar and I’m good to go!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    A Tablespoon of Liz said,

    This looks so good! Of course, I love anything with cilantro in it!

  2. 2

    Caitlin said,

    Oh, I can’t wait to try this! Sounds beautifully ETL and perfect for the chill in the air!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

