Brown Rice Couscous Dinner

This rounds out my day!  After a blueberry/banana/kale smoothie for breakfast – kale and chickpea steam for lunch and a spa afternoon well deserved: facial, hour deep tissue massage & a pedicure – a yummy dinner!

While at the store last grocery shopping trip, we ran across “Brown Rice Couscous”.  Chunk!  Into the cart it flew.  The best of both worlds I thought.  Whole grain rice with the convenience of fast cooking couscous.  Hadn’t thought about it till tonight, my son pulled it out.  I opened the veggie drawer and viola!  Quick dinner stir fry.  At the risk of sounding boring…Yeah, I know almost all my recipes have onion, garlic, jalapeno, green pepper, carrots and celery, but honestly it’s always so good!

So it’s not quite as fast as regular couscous (5 min.) but 15 min. was plenty of time to press the tofu, dice the veggies, and heat ’em all up!

While we were eating I started reading the box –

1.  100% recycled paperboard

2. whole grain brown rice

3. gluten-free and processed in a gluten-free factory

4. manufactured with 100% renewable wind energy

5.  non-GMO Project Verified

6. Lundberg Family Farms eco-positive farming methods since 1937

7. The rice is gently crushed into tiny granules and fire roasted

A little cayanne on top and you can’t go wrong.  It’s the best of both worlds.  Quick, wholesome goodness!

Wanna see my toes?

 Can you say “Midnight at Lincoln Park” (my polish color)?

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jaime B. said,

    That looks really good! Where did you find the couscous?

  2. 3

    I hope we get it over here so I can try it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

