Sunday Soup Pot – Chili

 

Sunday has become my day to fix a big pot of something hearty to take for school lunches for the week.  The weather has suddenly turned cold, so today I made vegetable chili.  Like most of my soups, there’s not a lot of measuring involved!

Sauté in stick free pot:

1 large onion

2 cloves garlic

1 green/yellow pepper

½ jalapeno pepper (seeded)

2 stalks celery chopped

1 wedge cabbage chopped

4 large kale leaves stemmed & diced

Add:

1 can pintos in veg safe chili sauce

1 can black beans

1 can salt free tomato sauce

2 cans water

1 bay leaf

Mrs. Dash Southwest seasoning

2 tsp chili powder

Smoked paprika – shake, shake, shake…

Cumin-2 big shakes

Pepper-3 shakes

1 cup frozen corn thrown in at the end

Adjust seasonings as desired.

YUM!

Son and I both had a big bowl, leaving 5 more Tupperware containers like in the photo!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    When I see what you eat I think you are very brave. I am scared to death of veg in all shapes and forms. being a vegetarian this causes a lot of problems. I am trying to reform. I may manage it sometime in my next incarnation, or the one after that!

  2. 2

    Sparkle said,

    this looks yummy


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

