Teachers’ Lounge Lunch Adaption

Friday it was baked potato day at school.  They serve it with diced ham and shredded cheese 😦  blech!

They also serve brocoli – albeit over cooked, I don’t have to cook it.  So Thursday night I made some awesome un-queso Queso (recipe in a previous post https://veggieteach.wordpress.com/2011/08/13/) – extra spicy, added some spicy canned tomatoes and spicy pintos!  Uhhh, can you tell I like my food spicy?  Took it to school so I could have my baked potato and brocoli lunch with my teacher friends who looked on in awe and asked me about the queso made with nutritional yeast.  One even asked to taste it and thought it was good!

Surprisingly enough, all those carbs and homemade guacamole (half an avocado, 1/2 a jalapeno, 1/2 c. onion, a couple Tbs. lemon juice, a dash of cumin & a hint of salt) with baked blue tortilla chips last night and I still lost more weight.  Couldn’t be those long hours at schools now could it?  12 hours days for me the 1st 2 weeks. Ugh!

I did make it to Curves today though!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Heidi said,

    I want to try nutritional yeast, but I don’t know where to buy it. I haven’t run into it yet, and I’ve been looking. What section would it be in at the whole foods store?

  2. 2

    I get it at a local health food store. At Whole Foodso not sure–just ask. I’m having the left overs with chickpeas and kale tonight–or brocoli.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

