The Devil It Is

The beginning of school–hasn’t gotten any easier or less stressful.  The good news is that I haven’t gone through the KFC drive through yet at 8:00 when I leave school just before the custodians.  Bad news is those comfort serotonin raising carb foods have bitten me this week.  I wouldn’t have gotten this bread if my son wasn’t coming over to eat.  Yeah, I know, I didn’t have to have any, but toasted with some Earth Balance and a drizzle of Agave. Sourdough heaven and veg safe from my local deli.  Popcorn, baked blue chips….Ok I’ll stop, already!

I have had a smoothie every morning.  plant milk and berries or banana.  Taken my lunch everyday –salad or steamed vegs and tofu or black beans.  I’ve avoided the vending machine and haven’t been hungry.  So I won’t be letting the tempter out of the bag again!  A bowl of grapefruit calls instead.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sparkle said,

    Send some of that yummy bread over to me ha ha

  2. 2

    heidi said,

    Sometimes I think it is just as good for you to eat something you thoroughly enjoy. A beautiful sourdough roll sounds pretty wonderful!

  3. 3

    I agree with a “but”. It’s a trigger food. It can easily roll into 3-4 large toasted slices with margarine and something sweet on top, then a carb crash. I’ll get lethargic or fall asleep. So Yes, I let myself indulge rarely and when I know I’m strong enough to resist eating more than one. It tends to throw me off the track of healthy eating.

  4. 4

    Yeah – I went to a teaching seminar last night directly after work, didn’t have time to go home to fix some steamed greens and lentils which I have been eating regularly for the past 3 weeks. All they had available at the seminar was water, cheese cubes, pretzels and cookies (oh – and candies piled in the middle of each table!). So I had cheese and pretzels and water and then found myself seriously craving more carbs when I came home (stuck to a Rycrisp, though). Keep going Jude – you are inspiring many teachers!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

