I Used to Love to Eat Out

Ugh!  First lunch with my new team of teachers.  Wendy’s was chosen.  Where I live, there aren’t many choices.  I used to love the Baha Salad, but now to order it vegan I have to request they leave off the chili, tortilla strips, and cheese.  That leaves the yummy guacamole, but not much else besides lettuce.

Spring Mix
Baby Lettuces (red & green Romaine, red & green
oak, red & green leaf, lolla Rosa, tango), Spinach, Mizuna Arugula, Tatsoi,
Red Chard, Green Chard.

Pico de Gallo
Tomatoes, Onions, Pico de Gallo Base (water, soybean
oil, distilled vinegar, jalapeño peppers [including dehydrated], lime puree
[lime juice concentrate, water, pulp cells, lime oil, lime peel], salt,
concentrated lime juice, xanthan gum, onion [dehydrated], garlic [dehydrated],
natural flavors, oleoresin rosemary), Cilantro.

Guacamole
Hass Avocado, Tomato, Onion, Jalapeño, Salt, Cilantro,
Sugar, Ascorbic Acid (to maintain natural color), Jalapeño Chili Powder, Garlic
(dehydrated), Onion (dehydrated), Citric Acid, Lime Juice (dehydrated).

From http://www.wendys.com/food/Nutrition.jsp

I now get how my own kids used to hate going out to eat in the beginning of their vegan journeys.  Yes, it can be great (Mexican, Thai, or Indian fare), but most places around here do not have a sub beans for meat option.

So tomorrow we have a day long training.  The principal orders food in without our input.  I made some calls tonight to see what the menu was.  Sandwiches – all with meat, mayo and cheese.  I don’t know what else, but no doubt there will be some baked goods. 

I just made a black bean and rice salad with corn, carrots, onion, cucumber, tomatoes, and I’ll take some romaine.  Dressing is some green salsa (yes, there’s a bit of salt, but the trade-off is worth it tomorrow).  I’m sure I’ll get some grief, but after everyone telling me how great I look coming back after summer, I’ll just have to smile and tell them how much better I feel and I couldn’t have done it without “giving up” a few things.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ate this all up between lunch and dinner. Everyone one else ate meat sandwiches, pasta salad swimming in oil, chips & chocolate cake. And we survived the earthquake! A little rolling earth under our feet. We all thought we were dizzy from something. All was fine here though.

  2. 2

    That salad looks delicious!

  3. 3

    It was! Made a hot black bean dish tonight with tomatoes, Tofuky sausage, onions, rice & roasted red peppers.

  4. 4

    heidi said,

    +1 on the eating out challenge! We had a nice meal at an Asian hole-in-the-wall here in Winchester last night. I had the Tofu Teriyaki and really enjoyed it. But definitely felt the stress during a lunch meeting last week when I was starving and my only choice was a small green salad. Good for you for making something tasty and healthy for yourself. I bet your changes will inspire those you work with.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

