Last Day of Summer Vacation

 

It’s with mixed emotion that I end this last day of summer freedom.  Of course I’m happy to have a job with benefits!  The unstructured days of summer allow me to chill out, but all too often get too little done, because there’s always tomorrow!  I get lots of fiction reading done and see a few movies.  In the summer, it is easier to spend prep time on healthy meals, with no rush in the morning to get ready, eat breakfast, and make a lunch.  That will be my new challenge. 

 

I look forward to the structured school year, collaboration with peers, and guiding a fresh group of students into a new level of learning. AND I look forward to setting a good example in eating well and taking care of my health in the teachers’ lounge. 

 

I’m down a total of 5 pounds since THIS challenge started at the beginning of August.  A total of 20 pounds since the end of March 2011 when I first started the Eat to Live program and committed to living Plant Strong.  The last 2-3 #s have been up and down for a while.  I’d love to end the month in a new decade, but that’s 4 more #s away.  Not sure if I’ll make it, but either way I’ll be happy.  I feel a shopping trip coming on soon as my school clothes are getting baggy!

 

Lunch was a Taco Bell Taco Salad

–  meat, cheese & sour cream

+ beans & guacamole

 

So dinner was roasted vegs with a side of kale topped with a handful of nuts.

Cauliflower, green pepper, jalapeno, carrots, tomatoes, garlic & onion with oregano, small drizzle olive oil, balsamic vinegar, lemon juice, pepper, & chile powder.

Leave a Reply

