Comfort Food – Vegetable Soup

Tired & running late for church, I only had coffee, which is not unusual for a Sunday morning. I can usually make it through the service and Fellowship without eating *junk* and I almost did. We had watermelon, *perfect*, BUT there they were Oreos.

 Now most days I could pass up regular Oreos, but…dunt..dun..dun… they were peanut butter cream Oreos. Gack!  I ate 2 – oh well.   Stop it and move on – drank some tea.

 

Then on the way home, my stomach hurt (actually it had since I got up) and I REALLY wanted a burger

or chicken .

 

In the past, I may have said, listen to your body – go ahead and eat it.  Who knows, maybe next time I will, but for today, I did not.  I went home and made my smoothie with soy milk, a scoop of Spiru-tien, and a banana.  

 

Went to work out, then to the store.  I knew I needed a hot meal, some comfort food, yet *safe* comfort food, so out came the soup pot.  In went:

1 Tbs. olive oil

1 clove garlic

1 onion, chopped

1 jalapeno seeded, diced

4-6 kale leaves de-stemmed and chopped

1 bulb baby bok choy

handful baby carrots chopped

handful baby asparagus chopped

1 cup snap peas, chopped

1 large potato (nuked ¾ way done) cubed

½ can spicy tomatoes

½ qt. no-chicken broth

2 cups hot water w/ 1 pkg. Goya ham flavor & 1 no-chicken bullion cube

 

1 bay leaf

1 tsp. poultry seasoning

1 tsp. Hungarian paprika

Fresh basil chopped-3 sprigs

1 tsp oregano

 

 

And – it was VERY good!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sparkle said,

    your soup pot looks yummy lol

  2. 2

    That looks really yummy!!!! I have been craving some soup lately!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

