Less is More or Better Yet None

Snacks, that is!

In my foray through Trader Joes, I thought, “Why don’t I get some healthy snacks?”  WRONG.  Even if they are somewhat healthier than what I’d eaten before, they are still processed, salty, and extremely hard to eat in moderation!  For me they are the devil & irresistible. 

One snack I got may have some redeeming value.  Hint it’s green crunchy and tastes like its name.  Roasted Seaweed Snacks!  If you are at all concerned about not getting enough iodine (because you’ve cut out salt & you’re not eating those other snacks with salt) to rev up your thyroid and metabolism, this may be the ticket.  The taste is OK, therefore I only eat a sheet or two at a time. VERY low in calories.  Half a pack is a serving (which I’d never eat) has 30 cal/2g fat/50 mg sodium/1 carb/ 1 fiber/1 protein.  It provides 8% Vit A/20% Vit C/2% iron. It doesn’t list the amount of Iodine in them.  RDV is 150 mcg. 

So….if you have some insight on how much iodine is in these little lovelies, shout it out below.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Valerie said,

    I actually love those seaweed snacks! I grew up eating fried fish as a kid and the roasted seaweed has a familiar flavor that I enjoy.
    I don’t know the iodine content though.

  2. 2

    Heidi R. said,

    I’m a little bit hooked on the brown rice chips with sea salt.

  3. 3

    Sparkle said,

    never tasted Roasted Seaweed Snacks

  4. 4

    My boyfriend eats those same seaweed snacks from Trader Joe’s! I, on the other hand, cannot stand them 🙂

    Trader Joe’s does have some good, healthy snacks!

  5. 5

    jeanna robinson said,

    Love ’em! Our Trader Joe’s was kind enough to post a small sign letting us know they were packaged a year and half ago (before the sea radioactivity in Japanese waters).


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

