Eat Green – Lean – Clean

I discovered another way to get a serving of fruit in when I waited too long to make a smoothie for breakfast and it was time for lunch!  I made my salad (they all look the same you say?) and dressed it with Strawberry Vinaigrette: throw 5-8 strawberries in the blender with a Tablespoon or two of pomegranate balsamic vinegar (or any other vinegar or lemon juice), half as much water and a Tablespoon flaxseed meal. Whirl away and yummy!

 

Then, in the spirit of lean and green!  I found a great quartet of hummus at Trader Joes and plopped the parsley scallion hummus on top.  See photo with some of my favorite salt-free seasonings (also included: plain, roasted garlic & roasted red pepper)

 

Speaking of lean, green & clean – I caught a cicada on my front porch having just morphed & burst out of his old body beautifully green and resting in his body while it adjusted to his new form!  How perfect is that as a metaphor for life?

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I admire you eating that veg. I just hate veg. I eat pounds of fruit instead. Plus nuts and grains. That creature looks like a locust.
    Myrna.

  2. 2

    Cicadoidea, with large eyes wide apart on the head and usually transparent, well-veined wings. There are about 2,500 species of cicada around the world, and many of them remain unclassified. Cicadas live in temperate to tropical climates where they are among the most widely recognized of all insects, mainly due to their large size and unique sound. Cicadas are often colloquially called locusts, although they are unrelated to true locusts, which are a kind of grasshopper. Cicadas are related to leafhoppers and spittlebugs. (females prized in come places as being meatier, for eating)

  3. 3

    Sparkle said,

    jeepers when I saw the pic of the cicada my first thought was you ate it LMAO


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

