Improptu Mexican Night

<—Good thing I have another working bathroom (already remodeled by talented son #1).

I started by steaming the kale I bought Wednesday (leaving a few choice leaves for my smoothies), and planned to have some pinto beans spiked with jalapeño, garlic, and onion as a simple supper.  My eldest son stopped in to work on the remodeling of my master bath, so I mashed the beans with Kale water, ground some cashews in the blender and added the powder, threw in some Boca crumbles and grape tomatoes cut up, got out the whole wheat wraps, chopped some Romaine lettuce and whipped out the salsa and Texas Pete.  YUM!

We got so full from that that we forgot to eat the kale!  I ate a few pieces as I put it away.  I may make a kale sandwich tomorrow – pg 167 E2 book. Put hummus on whole wheat toast, add steamed kale spritzed with lemon juice, sprinkle with green onion, add cilantro, and a couple VERY thin lemon slices.  I’ve had it before and you’d be surprised how good it is.

Then there is kale butter (pg. 237 E2L), which I’ve never made before: 1 bunch kale, rinsed, chopped & steamed, 1/2 cup walnuts (I have cashews), ½ cup water, salt to taste (I will omit this).  Process in the blender until smooth.  Can’t wait to try!

And – if you’ve never made kale chips before, check this out (YouTube video how to) http://youtu.be/IcauOwRSPQo

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Melinda said,

    Thanks for the link to the youtube video! I need all the help that I can get! Sounds like you know this road pretty well already so I may just follow you like another car on the highway at night. It is so much easier to follow someone who is blazing a healthy, fun and flexible trail! Thanks for sharing you journey!

  2. 2

    Karena said,

    Surprisingly, I can’t find kale anywhere over here! It’s really annoying me as I’d like to try making kale chips 😦 Glad to hear you seem to be coping well with this first week.

  3. 3

    Well, this isn’t my first rodeo! After cooking for 3 kids that went vegan, starting in the late 90’s, reading and researching health and natural remedies almost all my life, and eating mostly veg for many years I do have some practice at this. 🙂 It’s amazing that Kale is not plentiful there. Sorry to hear this.

  4. 4

    Dave said,

    Your pinto bean creation sounds tasty! I may have to try that.

  5. 5

    jeanna robinson said,

    Sounds like your having fun with your creativity in cooking! KJeep it up! We LOVE kale chips!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

