Lunchroom Talk/Lunch

Bowl made for me by my oldest when he was in college

My usual lunch fare.

A couple leaves of romaine, 4 baby carrots, a handful of cucumber pieces, a few slices of onion, 8 chopped flat pea pods, about 1/4 c. jicima cubed, a handful of grape tomatoes, 1 Greek pepper (yes, I know there’s sodium in it, but it’s so good and I don’t add it every day), 1/2 c. garbanzo beans (chick peas). Sprinkle it with lemon juice and a little pomegranate balsamic vinegar. I usually do not add oil. Dr. Fuhrman (Eat 2 Live) prefers you get oils from nuts or avocado. No avocado today, so I did add the smallest drizzle of sesame oil today.

I love making salads, but I’ll be honest, during the school year, that’s another 15 + min. in the morning I have to put in. Remember, I’m NOT a morning person. I will say that I’ve been pretty diligent though. I will buy bagged salad and keep veggies cut up to make it quickly, but I prefer to make it from scratch. Salads are easy to buy out, but harder to find good ones without the obligatory chicken on top.

Invest in those green produce keeping bags or boxes and your fresh vegs will last twice as long. It’s easy in the beginning to get carried away & buy a great variety of produce to try, but you don’t want it going to waste. Try only adding 1-2 new items a weeks until you figure out how to eat it before it goes bad. 

The chewing alone will take most of my lunch break at school.  Lucky if I get a full 20 min. sitting down.  Nutrient packed, allows me to add an oz. of almonds.  Salad only:  calories/230 – fat/2 – carbs/46 – protein/9 – calcium/21 – choles/0 

 Total lunch: calories/400 – fat/15 grams –  carbs/51 –  protein/15 –  calcium/29 – cholesterol/0

 

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Izzy said,

    Mmmm! looks delicious. I love chickpeas in my salad… man oh man am I terrible at making them though.

  2. 2

    I never cook them from dry beans. Is that what you mean? Mine are always strainght from the can. I make a yummy Indian stew with them too.

  3. 3

    Sparkle said,

    I am coming to yours for lunch get a chair ready

  4. 4

    Kim said,

    your salad looks very yummy…I make salads very close to yours.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

