Queso – Vegan-lisious!

Lions & Tigers & Bears OH MY! Or should it be Nutrional Yeast, Garlic & Jalapenos- Oh My? I was craving some gooey cheesy goodness because I ran across an ad for Vegan Queso. Well, after finding out it’s not sold near me, I knew where to start looking for a recipe. Susan Voisin at FatFreeVegan.com has converted almost every food I love already. With a tweak tweak here and a tweak tweak there, using what I had and adapting it to my tastes, here’s what I came up with.

 

*Please be advised that my version is nose running good & hot.

My motto is “if a little hot is good, more is better” so tweak it to suit YOUR taste buds now.

 

Hot & Spicy Queso Sauce

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup low fat soymilk

1/3 cup nutritional yeast flakes

1 1/2 Tbs. cornstarch

1/2 Tbs. lemon juice

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

2 tsp. horseradish mustard

1/4 tsp. turmeric

1 Tbs. tahini

2 shakes cumin

3 spoons of pickled jalapenos

2 cubes pressed/dried cilantro

1/2 + cup drained zesty jalapeno diced tomatoes

  • Blend all ingredients (except tomatoes) until smooth.
  • Pour into a medium saucepan
  • Stir constantly over med-hi heat & bring to a boil.
  • Reduce heat to med/med-low
  • Add spicy tomatoes
  • Continue stirring till thick and smooth.

 

I poured some over a bowl of black beans and ate it with some lentil chips.  I can imagine nachos supreme, taco salad & quesadillas making good use of this deliciousness. 

 

How would you use it?

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    300hikes said,

    I have a difficult time with nutritional yeast. So many vegans seem to love it, but I always find the flavor a little off…

  2. 2

    I don’t know if it a matter of finding a brand you like, getting used to it or what?

    (You are not using Brewer’s Yeast are you?-Blech- NOT the same). This sauce has no wierd off taste and really seems like cheese sauce *to me*.

    Happy Trails!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

