Mac & Cheese – 4 Recipes

1.  A very simple recipe (my son likes) for mac and cheese is this:

 *I personally find it a bit bland* (I’d love to give credit here, but do not know where we Googled this from)

3/4 c. nutritional yeast

1 tsp. salt (or not)

1/4 tsp. onion powder

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1 c. water

1 c. soy or other milk alternative

3 Tb. oil

1 lb. elbow macaroni

Mix all ingredients (except mac-cook seperately) and heat gently, stirring with a wisk till a bit thick.

Drain noodles, pour cheese sauce over.

 

2.  Engine 2’s Macaroni & Not Cheese pg. 207

1 onion chopped

1 c. cashews

1/3 c. lemon juice

1 1/3 c. water

1/2 tsp. sea salt

4 oz. jar roasted red peppers/drained

 1 tsp garlic pwdr.

1 tsp. onion powder

16 oz. whole grain elbow pasta, cooked

Preheat oven to 425.  Saute onion 5 min. in nonstick pan. In food processor/blender combine onion, cashews, lemon jc., water & salt.  Gradually blend in red peppers, nutritional yeast with garlic & onion powders. Toss with pasta – bake 20 min. till golden brown on top.

*can’t wait to try this one*

 

3.  Mac & Cheese Sauce From Meet the Shannons blog

  • 3 1/2 cups elbow macaroni
  • 1/2 cup ( 1 stick ) vegan margarine
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 3 1/2 cups boiling water
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • Pinch of turmeric
  • 1 1/2 cup nutritional yeast flakes
  • A few dashes of liquid smoke
  • Paprika & Black Pepper, to taste

• Preheat the oven to 350°F.
• Cook the elbow macaroni according to the package directions. Drain and set aside.
• In a saucepan, melt the margarine over low heat. Whisk in the flour.
• Continue whisking over medium heat until smooth and bubbly.
• Whisk in the boiling water, salt, soy sauce, liquid smoke, onion powder, garlic powder, and turmeric – add a few dashes of black pepper to taste.
• Continue whisking until dissolved. Once thick and bubbling, whisk in the nutritional yeast flakes.
• Mix 3/4 of the sauce with the noodles and place in a casserole dish. Cover with the remaining sauce and sprinkle with the paprika.
• Bake for 15 minutes.
• Broil for a few minutes until crisp.

 

4.  Susan Voisin’s fat free vegan Mac & Cheese can be found at http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2007/10/easy-macaroni-and-cheeze.html

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Vicki said,

    These sound tasty to me. I am enjoying adding more spices to my foods of late. I am off of soy completely (unless I am getting some without knowing it. Have chosen to do that to avoid increasing breast cancer risks. Well. I do occasionally, and becoming more rare, use a bit of soy sauce. And, I´m planning to do a 30-day gluten-free plan to see if my energy levels improve. Just an experiment so I´ll return to things like sparingly-pasta, if it doesn´t make any diff. I have been researching it as thoroughly as possible so I get as close to true-ly and knowingly gluten-free as I can. Have also been watching the MSG, as you know – which is ultra-challenging. I hardly eat out any more, which helps! I love that you take your food along. For me, that has made a BIG difference in my healthy choosing. Love reading your blogs, girlfriend!

  2. 2

    jeanna robinson said,

    I add a bit of mustard to mine and it gives it a little more “zip” and colour!

  3. 3

    Obviously, for me, the evidence is not there either way. Six of one half a dozen of another. And it’s OK that we have different ideas! I respect all the research you do to eat in a manner that works for your body.

    I did add mustard to my leftovers today! LOL, along with chili powder and a few other things.

    http://drfuhrman.com/library/breast_cancer_survivors-soy_good_alcohol_harmful.aspx

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20181808


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

